Faculty and Staff

Leadership and Administrative Staff

Dr. Meredith Oyen

 

Director, Asian Studies Program; Associate Professor, Dept of History
US Foreign Policy with Asia; China; Asian Immigration
oyen@umbc.edu

Meredith Power

Program Management Specialist
asianstudies@umbc.edu

Asian Studies Affiliate Faculty

(organized alphabetically by last name)

Dr. Tamara Bhalla

Associate Professor, Dept of American Studies; Director of Asian American Studies Minor
Asian American Literatures and Cultures; South Asian American and Diasporic Literature and Culture
tbhalla@umbc.edu

Dr. William Brown

Senior Lecturer, Dept of Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Chinese Language, Literature, and Film
wbrown@umbc.edu

Irene Chan

Associate Professor, Dept of Visual Arts
Visual and Performance Art, Asian American History and Taoism
ichan@umbc.edu

Dr. Bambi Chapin

Associate Professor of Anthropology, Dept of Anthropology and Sociology
Child Development in Sri Lanka and South Asia
bchapin@umbc.edu

Dr. Charissa Cheah

Professor, Dept of Psychology
Asian and Asian American Children and Adolescent Social, Emotional, Health Development
ccheah@umbc.edu

Dr. Brian Grodsky

Professor, Dept of Political Science
Central Asia; Comparative Politics; Human Rights; Democratization; Post-Communist Politics
bgrodsky@umbc.edu

Dr. Devin Hagerty

Professor, Dept of Political Science
South Asian Politics
dhagerty@umbc.edu

Dr. Tomoko Hoogenboom

Senior Lecturer, Japanese Area Coordinator, Dept of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication
Japanese Language and Culture
tmkhgnbm@umbc.edu

Dr. Preminda Jacob

Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; Associate Professor, Dept. of Visual Arts
Art History and Museum Studies
premindajacob@umbc.edu

Dr. David Mitch

Professor, Dept of Economics
Asian Economics
mitch@umbc.edu

Dr. Julie Oakes

Assistant Director of Curriculum and Retention, The Honors College; Affiliate Adjunct II, Dept of History
East Asian Civilizations; Modern Japanese History and Culture
juloakes@umbc.edu

Dr. Manil Suri

Professor, Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
South Asian Literature
suri@umbc.edu

Dr. Christopher K. Tong

Assistant Professor, Dept of Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Culture, Politics, and Environment; China and Hong Kong; Critical Theory
ckt@umbc.edu

Dr. Sharon Tran

Assistant Professor, Dept of English
Multiethnic American Literature with Emphasis on Transnational Asian Literature and Visual Culture
stran@umbc.edu

Dr. Constantine Vaporis

Professor, Dept of History; Founding Director of UMBC’s Asian Studies Program
East Asian History; Gender and Women’s Studies in Asia
vaporis@umbc.edu

Dr. Fan Yang

Associate Professor, Dept of Media and Communication Studies
China and Globalization; Cultural Studies; Modern and Contemporary Chinese Media; Urbanism and Urban Communication
fanyang@umbc.edu

Dr. Kyung-Eun Yoon

Senior Lecturer, Coordinator of Korean, Dept of Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Korean Language and Culture
kyoon@umbc.edu

Dr. Noor Zaidi

Assistant Professor, Dept of History; Director of Religious Studies Minor
Middle East, Islamic World, Gender
nzaidi@umbc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Ka-che Yip

Professor, Dept of History 
East Asian History; Medicine and Culture in East Asia
yip@umbc.edu