Skip to Main Content

Faculty

Bhalla New
Dr. Tamara Bhalla
(tbhalla@umbc.edu)   Associate Professor, Department of American Studies (Asian American literatures and cultures, South Asian American and diasporic literature and culture), Program Director of the Asian American Studies minor

 

Bhatt New
Dr. Amy Bhatt
(abhatt@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Gender and Women’s Studies (gender, labor, migration, family and South Asia)

 

Brown New
Dr. William Brown
(wbrown@umbc.edu) Lecturer, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Chinese language, literature, and film)

 

Chan New
Irene Chan
(ichan@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Visual and Performance Art with Asian American history and Taoism)

 

Chapin New
Dr. Bambi  Chapin (bchapin@umbc.edu) Associate Professor of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology and Sociology (Child Development, Sri Lanka and _____ South Asia)

 

blank
Dr. Jean Fernandez
(jfernand@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of English (Colonialism and Literature of Empire)

 

 

 

Grodsky New
Dr. Brian Grodsky
(bgrodsky@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Political Science (Central Asia; Comparative Politics; Human Rights; Democratization; Post-Communist Politics)

 

 

Hagerty New
Dr. Devin Hagerty
(dhagerty@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Political Science (South Asian politics)

 

 

Hoogenboom New
Dr. Tomoko Hoogenboom 
(tmkhgnbm@umbc.edu) Senior Lecturer, Japanese Area Coordinator, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Japanese Language and Culture)

 

 

Jacob New  
Dr. Preminda Jacob
(premindajacob@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Art History and Museum Studies)

 

 

Mitch New
Dr. David Mitch
(mitch@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Economics (Asian economics)

 

 

Oakes New 
Dr. Julie Oakes
(juloakes@umbc.edu) Visiting Lecturer, Department of History and Asian Studies Program (East Asian civilizations, modern Japanese history and culture)

 

 

Oyen New 
Dr. Meredith Oyen
(oyen@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of History (US foreign policy with Asia; China; Asian immigration)

 

 

Dr. Nianshen Song (nianshen@umbc.edu), Assistant Professor, Department of History (Chinese, Inter-Asian, and Transnational History)

 

Suri new
Dr. Manil Suri
(suri@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics (South Asian literature) www.manilsuri.com

                      

 

Vaporis New
Dr. Constantine Vaporis
(vaporis@umbc.edu)   Founding and Former Director of Asian Studies Program, Professor, Department of History (East Asian History; Gender and Women’s Studies in Asia)

 

 

FanYangProfile

 

Dr. Fan Yang (fanyang@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Media and Communication Studies (China and globalization; Cultural studies; Modern and contemporary Chinese media; Urbanism and urban communication)

 

Yoon New
Dr. Kyung-Eun Yoon
(kyoon@umbc.edu) Senior Lecturer, Coordinator of Korean, Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics (Korean language and culture)

 

 

Instructors
Yeon Kripes NewYeon K. Krippes
(krippes@umbc.edu) Korean Language Instructor, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication

 

 

Emeritus Faculty
Yip
Dr. Ka-che Yip
(yip@umbc.edu)
Professor, Department of History (East Asian history; medicine and culture in East Asia)