Skip to Main Content

Faculty

Asian Studies Director

Oyen NewDr. Meredith Oyen (oyen@umbc.edu) Director, Asian Studies Program, Associate Professor, Department of History (US Foreign Policy with Asia; China; Asian Immigration)

 

Asian Studies Affiliate Faculty

Bhalla NewDr. Tamara Bhalla (tbhalla@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of American Studies (Asian American Literatures and Cultures, South Asian American and Diasporic Literature and Culture), Program Director of the Asian American Studies Minor

 

Brown NewDr. William Brown (wbrown@umbc.edu) Senior Lecturer, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Chinese Language, Literature, and Film)

 

 

Chan NewIrene Chan (ichan@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Visual and Performance Art with Asian American History and Taoism)

 

 

Chapin NewDr. Bambi  Chapin (bchapin@umbc.edu) Associate Professor of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology and Sociology (Child Development, Sri Lanka and South Asia)

 

 

Dr. Charissa Cheah (ccheah@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Psychology (Asian and Asian American children and adolescents’ social, emotional, and health development)

 

 

 

Grodsky New

Dr. Brian Grodsky (bgrodsky@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Political Science (Central Asia; Comparative Politics; Human Rights; Democratization; Post-Communist Politics)

 

 

Hagerty NewDr. Devin Hagerty (dhagerty@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Political Science (South Asian Politics)

 

 

 

Hoogenboom NewDr. Tomoko Hoogenboom (tmkhgnbm@umbc.edu) Senior Lecturer, Japanese Area Coordinator, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Japanese Language and Culture)

 

 

Jacob New Dr. Preminda Jacob (premindajacob@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Art History and Museum Studies)

 

 

Mitch NewDr. David Mitch (mitch@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Economics (Asian Economics)

 

 

 

 Oakes NewDr. Julie Oakes (juloakes@umbc.edu)   Assistant Director of Curriculum and Retention, The Honors College, Affiliate Adjunct II, History Department (East Asian Civilizations, Modern Japanese History and Culture)

 

 

Dr. Nianshen Song (nianshen@umbc.edu), Assistant Professor, Department of History (Chinese, Inter-Asian, and Transnational History)

 

 

Suri newDr. Manil Suri (suri@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics (South Asian Literature) www.manilsuri.com

 

 

Dr. Christopher K. Tong (ckt@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics & Intercultural Communication (Culture, Politics, and Environment in Modern China; Comparative Literature; Critical Theory)

 

 

Dr. Sharon Tran (stran@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of English (Multiethnic American Literature with an Emphasis on Transnational Asian Literature and Visual Culture)

 

 

 

 

Vaporis NewDr. Constantine Vaporis (vaporis@umbc.edu)   Founding and Former Director of Asian Studies Program, Professor, Department of History (East Asian History; Gender and Women’s Studies in Asia)

 

 

FanYangProfileDr. Fan Yang (fanyang@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of Media and Communication Studies (China and Globalization; Cultural Studies; Modern and Contemporary Chinese Media; Urbanism and Urban Communication)

 

 

 

Yoon NewDr. Kyung-Eun Yoon (kyoon@umbc.edu) Senior Lecturer, Coordinator of Korean, Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics (Korean Language and Culture)

 

 

Dr. Noor Zaidi (nzaidi@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of History (Middle Eastern, Islamic World, Gender)

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Yip
Dr. Ka-che Yip (yip@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of History (East Asian History; Medicine and Culture in East Asia)