Faculty

Bhalla New
Dr. Tamara Bhalla
(tbhalla@umbc.edu)   Assistant Professor, Department of American Studies (Asian American literatures and cultures, South Asian American and diasporic literature and culture)

 

Bhatt New
Dr. Amy Bhatt
(abhatt@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of Gender and Women’s Studies (gender, labor, migration, family and South Asia)

 

Brown New
Dr. William Brown
(wbrown@umbc.edu) Lecturer, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Chinese language, literature, and film)

 

Chan New
Irene Chan
(ichan@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Ephemera, Environment, and Experience)

 

 

Chapin New
Dr. Bambi  Chapin (bchapin@umbc.edu) Associate Professor of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology and Sociology (Child Development, Sri Lanka and _____ South Asia)

 

 

blank
Dr. Jean Fernandez
(jfernand@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of English (Colonialism and Literature of Empire)

 

 

Gonzalves New
Dr. Theo Gonzalves
(theo@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of American Studies (U.S.-Philippine relations; Filipino American/Asian American studies; culture and the performing arts)

 

 

Grodsky New
Dr. Brian Grodsky
(bgrodsky@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science (Central Asia; Comparative Politics; Human Rights; Democratization; Post-Communist Politics)

 

 

Hagerty New
Dr. Devin Hagerty
(dhagerty@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Political Science (South Asian politics)

 

 

Hoogenboom New
Dr. Tomoko Hoogenboom 
(tmkhgnbm@umbc.edu) Lecturer, Japanese Language and Culture

 

 

Jacob New  
Dr. Preminda Jacob
(premindajacob@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts (Art History and Museum Studies)

 

 

Mitch New
Dr. David Mitch
(mitch@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Economics (Asian economics)

 

 

Oakes New 
Dr. Julie Oakes
(juloakes@umbc.edu) Visiting Lecturer, Department of History and Asian Studies Program (East Asian civilizations, modern Japanese history and culture)

 

 

Oyen New 
Dr. Meredith Oyen
(oyen@umbc.edu) Assistant Professor, Department of History (US foreign policy with Asia; China; Asian immigration)

 

 

Richards New
Dr. Michael Richards
(emrichards@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Music (Asian music)

 

 

Shields New
Dr. Anna Shields
(ashields@umbc.edu) Associate Professor, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication (Chinese literature, culture)

 

 

Suri new
Dr. Manil Suri
(suri@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics (South Asian literature) www.manilsuri.com

                      

 


Dr. Wendy Takacs
(wtakacs@umbc.edu) Professor, Department of Economics, (International Economics, Economic Development)

 

 

Vaporis New
Dr. Constantine Vaporis
(vaporis@umbc.edu)   Professor, Department of History (East Asian history; gender and women’s studies in Asia)

 

 

Yoon New
Dr. Kyung-Eun Yoon
(kyoon@umbc.edu) Lecturer, Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics (Korean language and culture)

 

 

Instructors
Yeon Kripes NewYeon K. Krippes
(krippes@umbc.edu) Korean Language Instructor, Department of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication

 

 

Emeritus Faculty
Yip
Dr. Ka-che Yip
(yip@umbc.edu)
Professor, Department of History (East Asian history; medicine and culture in East Asia)